Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts

Thursday, July 26, 2018

DIY Glass Water Bottle - how to upcycle a Voss water glass bottle into something beautiful

I had no idea when I first wrote about the recycled glass water bottle project I made as a gift for my sister in 2013, that it would be so popular!

To date, more than 265,000 people have come to my website to read this tutorial! WOW!
I'm thrilled that so many of you have loved my DIY water bottle project.

This tutorial will allow you to transform an empty Voss Water glass bottle into a beautiful work of art. I will teach you how to take a glass water bottle that would otherwise be discarded and upgrade it into a beautiful, etched glass water bottle that can be used over and over and over again!

This etched glass water bottle makes a great gift. My DIY water bottle project is also infinitely customizable to make it just right for your recipient.
41

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Best meal delivery service options - gluten free, paleo, keto
Are you feeling overwhelmed and like you just can't do it all: Work, be a good mom, keep your house clean and stay sane? You are not alone! This year I decided I couldn't keep up with it all and called in some reinforcements and I started with healthy meal delivery service. Actually, I tried FOUR different, healthy meal delivery services to see if they made my life easier and were worth the cost. 

Normally when I cook at home, most of our ingredients are organic and generally unprocessed. I also happen to be gluten free but my kids are husband aren't. I am terrible at meal planning and my three year old hates shopping. HATES. shopping. Unless it's at Costco, but I digress. Could a healthy food delivery service make my life easier? I also wanted to figure out which was the best meal delivery option for me so I could pass that great info onto you guys (were there even any paleo or organic meal delivery services available?)

I tried four different healthy meal delivery services to figure out what kind of families they were best for in order to help you make the right choice when choosing which meal delivery services to try. PLUS I got some great discounts for you so you don't have to pay full price to start!

Best Healthy Meal Delivery Service Options: A 100% Honest Review

I tried four different healthy meal delivery services and now that I've tried them all, I definitely have a favorite.
0

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

This post is brought to you by HomeRight.
How to paint a ceiling the easy way

Do you have a ceiling that needs paint and you are absolutely dreading the job? Do you need tips and tricks for how to paint your ceiling without killing your arms and getting paint everywhere? I am here to help! 

Welcome to ceiling painting 101!

7

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

This post is brought to you by I Love to Create's Tie Dye your Summer program.


I love the ombre dip-dyed look but the idea of dip dying anything is kind of overwhelming. Plus most of the tutorials that involve dipping and waiting usually have weird lines that I don't love. And then there's all the time. And all the space. And all the mess. And all the CLEANING UP of the mess. 

Whew! I got exhausted just typing that! Which is why even though I've loved this trend for a couple years now I had yet to make a single ombre dyed anything. That all changed this week thanks to the Tulip One-Step Tie Dye Kit. Unlike summer camp tie-dye where you have to mix and measure and soak and bladie, bladie blah (so much work!) - you just add water and dye things! EASY. Low Mess. Full of win. Plus you can use it the make magical ombre things! And they turn out so pretty. Let me show you how!
4

Wednesday, May 13, 2015



As a child, I never had seasonal allergies - even to the Pacific Northwest allergy sufferer's nemesis: Scotch Broom. When I was 21, I moved to Boston and three years later when I came home, I realized I was suddenly allergic to quite a few of the things growing here.

My husband, on the other hand, has suffered from all sorts of allergies his whole life. From pets to dust to pollen, poor air quality definitely has an effect on him. During the winter, he wants the windows open to help get relief from what's bothering him inside and during the summer he wants them closed to keep out the pollen (during prime open window weather!). And often, he feels he has to take allergy medicine anyway.


Air quality affects quality of life

If you suffer from allergies like we do, you know that your air quality directly affects your quality of life. Nobody wants to feel sniffly and sneezy or have puffy, itchy or watery eyes ever - but especially not at home.

We've talked about getting an indoor air purifier for a few years but never bought one because we were overwhelmed by choices and honestly, down deep I think we were mostly scared that we'd spend the money to get a nice one and then find out it didn't make a difference.


32

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

This post brought to you by Olives from Spain.

Olives are one of my all time favorite foods.

Whether it's mixed into recipes or just to eat plain as a snack, olives provide healthy monounsaturated fats which boost energy and are shown to naturally improve cholesterol levels.

They pair well with lots of foods but one of my favorite pairings is olives and cheese.

These rosemary and feta stuffed fried olives make a great appetizer when paired with marinara sauce. They are salty and savory and perfectly poppable.


Ingredients

  • 2 cans (3 oz each) of green pitted Olives from Spain, drained
  • 2 oz crumbled feta*
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary*
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 2 Tbsp finely grated Parmesan cheese*
  • 1 egg*
  • Light olive oil or safflower oil for frying
  • Marinara sauce* for dipping
*I recommend purchasing these ingredients as organic where available to avoid GMOs and pervasive pesticides.


Directions

To stuff the olives, insert one fresh rosemary needle in the cavity of each olive and stuff with feta crumbles. I find that that the feta crumbles are usually the perfect size for popping in the holes of the olives - just keep inserting and packing them in until the olive is full. Set stuffed olives aside on a plate.


To prepare the olives for frying, put the flour in a small bowl, mix the panko and Parmesan together in another bowl, and whisk the egg in a third bowl.


One or two at a time, dredge the olives in flour, then egg then the panko mixture. Repeat with all of the olives. Set aside.


To fry the olives, heat about 1.5 inches of light olive oil or safflower oil in a small sauce pan until it sizzles when a bread crumb is dropped in the oil.

Add 5-10 olives at a time to the hot oil, being sure not to crowd them.

Allow to cook for 1 minute before removing olives with chopsticks or tongs to a paper towel lined plate. Repeat until you have fried all of the olives.


Serve warm with a side of organic marinara sauce for dipping.




Olives of all colors are really delicious and versatile in a variety of dishes. Olives from Spain has a great collection of olive recipes on their site including this olivada spread recipe which uses black olives. Click on the picture to go to that recipe!
Olivada photo credit: Olives from Spain

For something more simple, use black olives as a garnish on your salad, in your tacos, on hummus or other dips and more! Is there a bad way to have olives? I don't think so!


Look for Olives from Spain in your local grocery stores. You can also follow them on social media to enter giveaways, discover new recipes and more:
Olives from Spain on....
Facebook     Twitter     Pinterest     YouTube 

This month, Olives from Spain will head to Miami for the country’s premiere food festival. If you are lucky enough to attend the renowned South Beach Wine and Food Festival, be sure to stop by the Olives from Spain station to sample some tasty bites and connect with them there, too!

Do you like this post? Consider subscribing to our weekly newsletter!

Sponsored post disclosure: Compensation was provided by Olives from Spain via MomTrends.  The opinions expressed herein are those of the author and are not indicative of the opinions of Olives from Spain or Momtrends. Creative Green Living only endorses products we enjoyed and think you will, too. See our full sponsored post policy for more information.
1

Tuesday, February 3, 2015



About three months ago, I acquired a Bumbleride Indie 4 and I'm not joking when I say it's changed my life! Between the stroller itself and some of its accessories like the footmuff and non-PVC rain cover, I've been able to stay active with my kids even during a cold and wet Pacific Northwest winter. 

If you have been looking for a high quality stroller that will keep your kid warm, dry and be eco-friendly at the same time, this is the one you want!


An Eco-Friendly Stroller

Let's be honest: there are several high performance strollers on the market. None of them, though, can hold a candle to Bumbleride's commitment to using sustainable and healthy materials. The exterior fabric is PET made from recycled water bottles. One stroller worth of fabric uses 14 plastic bottles, which saves our raw resources and keeping waste out of landfills.

The interior fabric is bamboo charcoal. Not only is bamboo a super renewable resource, but has natural temperature regulation and moisture wicking properties - all while being naturally antimicrobial. 

The rain cover is made of a non-PVC polymer which allows them to avoid the sketchy chemicals used in PVC production as well as avoid off gassing into your little one while they ride inside.

Not only are their materials awesome, but their strollers are built to last. The longer a family can use the same stroller, the better. Bumbleride helps you extend the lifespan of your stroller by not only being super durable but by making it expandable. Add a mini board to the back of any of their strollers and now big brother or sister can hitch a ride without needing to swap out for a whole new stroller when baby brother or sister comes along. The mini board also makes an ideal place to rest shopping bags!

Fits in my tiny electric car

We drive a 2013 all-electric Ford Focus. The body is essentially the same as the newer Ford Focus models, however the battery that powers the vehicle takes up most of the trunk space. Finding a stroller that fits back there is HARD. Because the wheels on the Indie 4 (as well as the Indie and Indie Twin) come off and reattach really easily, I can pop off the rear tires and the whole thing fits easily in the trunk of my electric Focus - with room to spare!


An all terrain stroller

Between the air filled tires, suspension and the ball bearings in the front wheels this stroller can go anywhere. Going down a dirt road? Shopping at IKEA? Rolling over bricks? Crossing train tracks? The Indie 4 handles all of these and more with grace.


Works with our car seat

Even though our car seat is designed to pair with a different, way less awesome stroller, it still works with the Indie 4. I just swap out one little piece and now I can secure my baby's car seat to our Bumbleride and use it as a full fledged travel system. The rain cover even works when you are using your car seat in conjunction with the stroller.


Accessories make it an all-weather stroller

My last stroller was reserved mostly for use during the summer or inside. If it was wet or cold outside, my baby was going to be wet and cold in the stroller. By contrast - not only does Bumbleride make an awesome rain cover to make it easy to stroll rain or shine, but the liner/footmuff combo is like a little sleeping bag to keep Baby snuggly even when it is cold out. Depending on how cold it is, we may use a blanket with the muff but it keeps the cold air from cutting through the blanket and making him uncomfortable.


It holds a lot!

While I would consider the basket itself  "medium" sized, its ability to hold things does not end there. Between the cargo basket, the ability hang long-strapped things over the handles and short strapped things over the cupholder, you can do a lot of errands and still hold all your things plus your drink and the baby!


More reasons I love the Bumbleride Indie 4

Other things we love about our Bumbleride Indie 4:
  • Uses magnets instead of loud Velcro for mesh peek window for checking on baby
  • Comes in a variety of gender neutral colors
  • Easy to assemble
  • Folds easilly
  • Back folds almost totally flat and sits up, too - makes it perfect for babies of all ages
  • Easy to use brake system
  • Light enough to take in/out of the car easily without help

Bumbleride Indie 4 in review

There is a Norwegian saying, "There is no bad weather. Only bad clothes." The same principle applies to strollers. If you are looking for a super versatile stroller that you can use in all weather and on all terrain, the Indie 4 is for you. It's really enabled me to spend more of my time walking instead of driving - which is great exercise for both my kids and me - even during the Pacific Northwest rainy season.




Do you like this post? Consider subscribing to our newsletter!
Our blog newsletter offers the convenience of email delivery but only goes out every 10-14 days.

Review post disclosure: I was provided with a Bumbleride Indie 4 stroller in lotus blue for the purposes of testing and reviewing the product for you. All thoughts and photos in this post are my own. See my full review policy for more information.
15

Thursday, January 29, 2015

This post is brought to you by Silk.



One thing I've learned from my recent exploration into a more primal style of eating is that you can have really delicious "treats" that are still healthy for you and not overloaded in sugar. This easy chocolate banana smoothie is just one example. It's a great source of calcium and vitamin C and it's doing pretty good for potassium and vitamin A as well!

I used my "mason jar blender hack" to blend this up in a pint size mason jar so making this a simple and easy treat to whip up that is good for you, too!

I've written about products in Silk's line up before (here and here) and I have to say - their almond milk products are my favorite hands down! I think their chocolate almond milk tastes even better than traditional chocolate milk - and it has 50% more calcium to boot. Since we've drastically reduced how much dairy we are eating, this is really important to me, especially with two growing kids - because when their little bodies get everything they need, they bloom (just like a flower!).

Of course all of Silk's products are enrolled in or certified by the non-GMO project so despite GMOs still not being labeled in the US, I know that nothing coming out of a silk carton is a product of genetic engineering - that's important to me! Additionally, their products are all free of artificial colors, flavors or preservatives.

For more information about Silk, visit them online here or sign up for their email newsletter.

0

Friday, September 19, 2014

This post is brought to you by Dremel.


Have you ever used a Dremel rotary tool in your crafting? I'll admit that I've been coveting one for a while and was so thrilled to be sent one to play with! I'm actually glad I didn't get one sooner so that I could have the new Dremel Micro 8050. 

The Micro 8050 is the most “brilliantly powerful” and precise cordless rotary tool that Dremel has ever produced. The Micro 8050 can cut, carve, engrave, sand, grind, sharpen, clean and polish—just like a traditional Dremel rotary tool but it's got an easy to hold grip that's similar to holding a pencil AND it has a small light that lights up the spot you're drilling. Awesome!

Why have I always wanted a Dremel rotary tool you ask? To drill holes in sea glass and rocks! So, of course, that's what I did - and I made this cute drilled heart necklace. It's actually super easy to make - it just takes a bit of time to drill a hole all the way through a rock. 


Supplies

Some of the links in my supply lists may be affiliate links. 


3

Saturday, August 23, 2014

This post is brought to you by Nature's Path.

One of my favorite things about blogging is introducing you you companies I love. So when I found out that Nature's Path and their Envirokidz line were running an awesome contest that will take winners to Costa Rica (!!!) I was excited to tell you guys about it. Because: Costa Rica! Plus their breakfast foods are pretty awesome.

If you are aren't already familiar with the EnviroKidz line, you definitely want to pick up a box the next time you are at the grocery store. Their cereals are all Organic, GMO free and gluten free. And they taste good. The boxes have interesting information that teaches kids about animals and protecting the environment.

What was that about Costa Rica? EnviroKidz is sending three lucky families on an EnviroTrip to Costa Rica to help save the sea turtles at SEE Turtles, a non-profit wildlife conservation travel operator in the beautiful OSA peninsula. The whole things sounds amazing. Read on at the bottom below my recipe to find out more!
0

Wednesday, August 13, 2014



It's time to send our kids back to school - and of course that means we need to figure out what to feed them for lunch. If you're focusing on making non-toxic choices for your family, you also want to think about how you send the food to school. Many common lunch packing items contain questionable chemicals like BPA, PVC, phthalates and lead. LEAD! Did you know that lead is a common ingredient in many lunch bags? Yuck! 

So what's a parent to do? Pick up a non-toxic lunch kit to send your little one back to school. 
7

Thursday, August 7, 2014


Giving birth is a wonderful, magical time. Your little baby is soft and squishy and you wonder at his tiny little fingers and toes. 

But make no mistake - the first few weeks after giving birth can be pretty rough on mom. Between leaky boobs, a sore bottom (or incision if she had a c-section), and just wanting your baby to be happy to not be held for 5 minutes so you can pee - moms have a lot going on. 

Whether you are a first time mom, a veteran or a friend just looking to help out, here are my recommendations for the top 10 things I think every mom should have to make her either feel a little better or make her life easier in the first 3 months after giving birth. 

Please note: I have personally used and love every product recommended. Some companies may have provided sample items free of charge for the purpose of consideration, however, companies were not able to purchase a spot in this guide and I was not paid by any of these companies for my review. All recommendations are 100% my own.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ 
2

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

This post brought to you by ALO Drink. All opinions are 100% mine.


Once upon a time when I worked in Call Center Land, one of my co-workers would frequently bring bottles of ALO, an aloe vera drink to work. I'd never heard of drinking aloe vera and thought the whole thing sounded weird - I mean, isn't aloe vera for treating wounds? Once I actually tried one, though, I was hooked - this stuff is SO good! It's even become my four year old's favorite treat. If I really want to reward him for extra awesome behavior, he gets a bottle of ALO.

ALO takes organic aloe vera juice and pulp (not powder like some competitors) and mix in fruits, vegetables and other good-for-you tasty things (like honey) to make drinks that are nutritious, super hydrating and flat out tasty. They're also naturally low calorie, fat free and gluten free - and Non-GMO Project verified.

While I love drinking ALO straight from the bottle, I was challenged to come up with a fun cocktail using ALO as a base and had a lot of fun doing it. I took my favorite flavor from the ALO original line and blended in some frozen fruit to make a tasty daiquiri-style drink (feel free to add rum to yours but I think it's pretty good by itself!)

Because ALO drinks are so hydrating, it's perfect for the super hot weather we've been having. If you decide to add rum to yours, be sure to drink responsibly!

2

Monday, March 31, 2014

This post is brought to you by HomeRight.



I let you guys know last month that I'm working on re-doing my dining room. My main goal has been to make my dining room a more enjoyable, usable space. I'm doing this by:
  • Decluttering and increasing storage (see this post about how I turned an old dresser into a functional sideboard to provide pretty storage)
  • Making the space feel lighter and brighter with:
    • Fresh paint
    • Lighter furniture
    • Bright decorative accents
Here is a picture of my dining room before I got started:

Here is what it looks like now with fresh paint and my new sideboard for storage:

The paint changes it SO much! It feels like a completely different room and I'm not even done.

In tackling a big painting project like this I had two hugely important requirements:
  • I had to do it fast. My husband hates when I want to do big DIY projects. Hates it. To help make it less painful, I needed to be able to do it while he was gone at work. In fact, I didn't even tell him ahead of time I was going to be painting the dining room.
  • It had to be non-toxic. Traditional paint contains high levels of VOCs (VOC=volatile organic compounds). VOCs are toxins that are released into the air inside your home both while you are painting and for up to five years after the paint is dry. Luckily, there are now lots of options available for VOC free paints. These paints will be clearly labeled as being VOC free and usually cost a little more than high quality hardware store paint. Am I willing to spend a little extra money to help protect the health of my family? Absolutely!
To help make my project go quickly, I partnered with HomeRight to try some of their painting tools. 

 

I loved both of these - especially the PaintStick EZ Twist. Using both these tools together made it possible for me to pull off a huge DIY project by myself in a lot less time than if I'd used traditional tools like tape, paint brushes and standard rollers.

To avoid VOCs, I used paint from a company called ECOS. Their paint is not only VOC free but non-toxic, too. This made it possible for me to do this whole project while six months pregnant without worrying about poisoning myself or my baby with toxic paint fumes. It also will protect my family's health for years to come because it will not continue to off-gas VOCs like traditional paint. It's just as beautiful as traditional paint.


Supplies for Fast Painting

Some of the links in my supply lists may be affiliate links. 

Did you notice that my supply list does NOT include traditional painting supplies like paint trays or edge tape? That's because I didn't need them!
12

Thursday, February 20, 2014

This post is brought to you by Annie Sloan Unfolded.
My current project at home is upgrading my dining room one small project at a time. In addition to being rather unremarkable, one of the big issues we struggle with in our open plan townhome is lack of storage space.

Here is what the dining room looked like last month:
9

Monday, September 16, 2013

This post is brought to you by HomeRight
I will admit it: until last week, deep cleaning my oven is something I never ever looked forward to. It took a long time and it's never as clean as I wish it were. Part of this is that we use non-toxic cleaning products and even though I think it might be possible to scrub it decently clean with a lemon, baking soda and vinegar - it would take a long time. Aint' no one got time for that!

So what changed?

This little beauty arrived on my door step:

In about 35 minutes, my oven was cleaner than I have ever seen it ever. EVER. And it was totally chemical free - all I needed was the steam that came out of this little miracle of modern cleaning technology. 

Does this sound a little over the top? It's honest. Ask my husband. I was giddy. GIDDY about how clean my oven and stove were when he got home for work and I blabbered at him about it for longer than it took to clean the thing. 

Once you see how awesome the SteamMachine is, you are going to want one, too! Keep reading after the tutorial to enter to win!


Supplies

3
I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. My posts may contain affiliate links to products on Amazon. Thank you for supporting Creative Green Living.
Carissa's Creativity Space (creativecarissa.com) became Creative Green Living in February 2013. As such the watermarks on older posts may reflect the previous site name.